Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Doctor Who First Series Five Novels Covers

BBC Books have now revealed the covers for the next three Doctor Who novels, set for release later this month in time for the fifth series of Doctor Who. The books, Apollo 23 by Justin Richards, Night of the Humans by David Llewellnyn, and The Forgotten Army by Brian Minchinm, are the first to feature The Eleventh Doctor and Amy Pond who are being played by Matt Smith and Karen Gillan in the series. The covers can be seen above and the synopses can be read below:

Apollo 23 by Justin Richards
‘Houston – we have a problem.’ An astronaut in full spacesuit appears out of thin air in a busy shopping centre. Maybe it’s a publicity stunt. A photo shows an immaculately-dressed woman in her best shoes lying dead at the edge of a crater on the dark side of the moon – beside her beloved dog ‘Poochie’. Maybe it’s a hoax. But as the Doctor and Amy find out, these are just minor events in a sinister plan to take over every human being on earth. The plot centres on a secret military base on the moon – that’s where Amy and the TARDIS are. The Doctor is back on Earth, and without the TARDIS there’s no way he can get to the moon to save Amy and defeat the aliens. Or is there? The Doctor discovers one last great secret that could save humanity: Apollo 23.

Night of the Humans by David Llewellyn
‘This is the Gyre – the most hostile environment in the galaxy.’ 250,000 years’ worth of junk floating in deep space, home to the shipwrecked Sittuun, the carnivorous Sollogs, and worst of all – the Humans. The Doctor and Amy arrive on this terrifying world in the middle of an all-out frontier war between Sittuun and Humans, and the clock is already ticking. There’s a comet in the sky, and it’s on a collision course with the Gyre... When the Doctor is kidnapped, it’s up to Amy and “galaxy-famous swashbuckler” Dirk Slipstream to save the day. But who is Slipstream, exactly? And what is he really doing here?

The Forgotten Army by Brian Minchin
‘Let me tell you a story. Long ago, in the frozen Arctic wastes, an alien army landed. Only now, 10,000 years later, it isn’t a story. And the army is ready to attack.’ New York – one of the greatest cities on 21st century Earth. But what’s going on in the Museum? And is that really a Woolly Mammoth rampaging down Broadway? An ordinary day becomes a time of terror, as Ice Age creatures come back to life, and the Doctor and Amy meet a new and deadly enemy. The vicious Army of the Vykoid are armed to the teeth and determined to enslave the human race. Even though they’re only three inches high. With the Doctor kidnapped, and the Vykoid army swarming across Manhattan and sealing it from the world with a powerful alien forcefield, Amy has just 24 hours to find the Doctor and save the city. If she doesn’t, the people of Manhattan will be taken to work in the doomed asteroid mines of the Vykoid home planet. But as time starts to run out, who can she trust? And how far will she have to go to free New York from the Forgotten Army?

The new Doctor Who series five novels will go on sale across the United Kingdom and Ireland on the twenty-second of April, being sold at a recommended retail price of £6.99. BBC Books plan to release further Doctor Who titles across the year, and more details regarding them will be posted here.


Sylar said...

Wow! They sound great! And the covers look awesome too! :D


Micah Likes Chickens said...

There's a mammoth on the cover of the third book... interesting.

Conor said...

Love the covers